Hopeless No More

Standard

Sunshine and Daisies

As many of you know, yesterday was Ash Wednesday, marking the first day of Lent. Now, I am not Catholic, nor do I understand fully the tradition behind Lent, so I am not going into the religious aspects or anything like that. I’ll leave that to people much smarter than me. But, the basic concept that I understand and am partaking in is that you must give something up as a form of fasting in order to strengthen your faith and better yourself.

This year, I decided to give up feeling hopeless. Call it a belated new years resolution or whatever you will, but the way I figure it, Lent is a shorter time to give it a try, and if it doesn’t work, at least I won’t feel bad about not making it a full year. I am nothing if not practical, at least.

Why this choice, you ask? Because I have been complaining and feeling sorry for myself for too long. I have managed to alienate myself from most and seem to only keep contact with those who I know will help me when I need it. It is selfish and does more harm than my health ever could.

It is interesting that I chose now to try this. I am recovering from surgery to remove my gallbladder. I may be putting too much hope in myself. Even so, I have this NEED to feel better. Not only physically, but emotionally, mentally, and spiritually.

I am no fool. I know the world isn’t going to be sunshine and daisies just because I will it. I can, however, will my attitude to change. You know the old saying, “Fake it ’til you make it!” I plan on living it. Starting today. I would say I started yesterday, but I just didn’t have it in me yet.

So, here is my challenge to you. Pick a time span no less than 3 weeks and make a change. Do you want to start eating healthy? Try it! Are you wishing you could make time doing what you love? Do it! Be the change you want to see in the world. Be practical. If you fail, oh well. It was only for a small time and you can always try again. If you succeed, keep it up and try your next challenge.

3 thoughts on “Hopeless No More

  1. Plus…you get to work on time… *wink* Seriously, this is a great idea. Sounds like I get to make some decisions about “changeable” things… 🙂

    Like

  2. I crawled out of the muck many, many years ago, and while I’ll never be cured, I have been fortunate enough to be stable for so long that I’ve almost forgotten what it felt like to be in that black vacuum for the first 25 years of my life. Dark times, indeed. My normal is still nothing like most people’s idea of normal, but I’m at least in control of it, for the most part. It can happen. And it feels good. To be in control. To say to yourself, “nothing is hopeless. As long as life exists, hope exists.”

    Like

Drop a line

