Requiem

Standard

This is for my husband. May your journey be safe and you come home soon.

Kenneth

The lights here burn brightly, the welcome is warm,
And this is a haven from many’s the storm,
A poet once said: “You can never go home.”;
But now the wind’s blowing chill,
Home is the sailor home from sea, and the hunter home from the hill.

So lay out a new course, North, South, East or West,
Make weigh your anchor, sail on your last quest,
Steer for the one port you’re sure to find rest,
Lay alongside with all skill,
Home is the sailor home from sea, and the hunter home from the hill.

Under the wide and the bright starry sky,
Dig me a grave, there let me lie,
Glad did I live and gladly I die,
I lay me down with a will,

And this be the verse that you ‘grave for me:
Here he’s at rest where he wanted to be,
Home is the sailor home from sea, and the hunter home from the hill.

-Robert Louis Stevenson

Drop a line

