Something in the Way

Standard

There was something in the way he said my name. It wasn’t right. Not natural or coy, like he usually was. Part of me wanted to cock my head to the side the way Lucy, my cocker spaniel, does when she’s confused about a sound outside my door. I laughed, still suspicious. I watched carefully as he smirked with all too knowing eyes. He knew my laugh well. I couldn’t hide from him the way he was trying to hide from me. We stared at each other, neither willing to back down. “What?” I wanted to ask, but I just sat there and continued to stare, my proverbial head still cocked in wonder. With a sheepish grin, he looked away. It was then that I knew. Things had changed. My head shook from side to side in amazement. I’d done it! I had broken him down enough until he cracked. I glanced in his direction, grinning from ear to ear like the Cheshire cat. He, too, was smiling. It was official. After months of tedious planning and flawless scheming, he had finally fallen for me. With a deep sigh of relief, I reached over and took his hand.

Drop a line

