Christmas Spiritless

Standard

Have you ever looked back over a long weekend and wondered why you even bothered getting out of bed? That was me this Christmas. Normally, I love Christmas. I love shopping for people to find the gift that meets absolute perfection. I love watching the glow on their faces as they shred my notorious Ho3 wrapping paper (which I am saddened to say that I am out of). Getting gifts doesn’t hurt, either… 🙂 I just couldn’t get into it this year. Maybe it was because mucus was dripping out of every orifice on my face (brings me back to the days when I was lovingly called a “snot-nosed kid”). Or maybe it was because of the lack of Christmas Spirit.

Our Christmas Tree this year... Well... Very similar, at least!

It seemed like every time I turned around, there was someone complaining about not getting what they asked for or making comments that they didn’t like what they got. I may be old-school in saying this, but shouldn’t we be grateful for what we’re given? People took their time in picking something out, wrapping it with their love, and giving what they could. So what if it isn’t exactly what was on your list? If you don’t like it, smile and say thank you and practice one of the three R’s: return, recycle, or re-gift! No one will ever be the wiser and your gift-giver will be joyous in making you happy. That, my friends, is showing love.

Merry Christmas to my immediate family, who are all full of grace and love. And Merry Christmas to my husband as we celebrate our first married Christmas together.

The Christmas Season my be over, but carry this same mentality with you. As the new year approaches, remember to be gracious, even when it seems impossible. Respect other’s thoughts and feelings. And, respect your own. I wish everyone a belated Merry Christmas and joyous New Year.

Drop a line

