GeekBoy Rules

Standard

Rule the world with mind control? Hell yeah!I have a confession to make… I am completely and totally in love with geek stuff. Anything you can think of… ebooks, smartphones, laptops with super-fast  hard drives. I don’t know what it is. Maybe it’s the subliminal messages in the media today… Or maybe it’s just the generation I belong to. Either way, I am a board certified Geek.

It makes me wonder if our generation is corrupt. Do we submit to the callings of society on a wimb? or is that every generation?

As much as I think of myself as a Geek and enjoy Geek things, I do believe that technology has vastly changed our world. Take facebook, for example. Now, instead of picking up the phone or mailing a letter, we stalk people on facebook. Think about it… When was the last time you eavesdropped on a conversation at a funeral or a wedding or family reunion… Every one ends up on facebook somehow. Are you on facebook? (yes) I haven’t talked to you in 10 years, but I’ll add you and then stalk you but never say anything.  Has this become our lives? Are we to stow away in our little holes and only communicate through streaming web updates? I believe so.

Now the question is, do I think this is a bad thing? In some ways, yes, but I also believe that a lot more people can communicate than ever before. Bonds are kept between high school friends. Distant cousins can still be a part of the family. Long lost loves can be found. What can I say? I am an optimist!

 

Drop a line

